ICD-10 Code: I10 – Essential (Primary) Hypertension

ICD-Code I10 is a billable ICD-10 code used for healthcare diagnosis reimbursement of Essential (Primary) Hypertension. Its corresponding ICD-9 code is 401.

Billable: Yes

ICD-9 Code Transition: 401

Code I10 is the diagnosis code used for Essential (Primary) Hypertension. It is a disorder characterized by a pathological increase in blood pressure

Other Synonyms Include:

  • Benign essential hypertension
  • Benign essential hypertension (htn)
  • Benign hypertension
  • Bilateral hypertensive retinopathy
  • Essential hypertension
  • Essential hypertension (high blood pressure)
  • Hypertension
  • Hypertension (high blood pressure)
  • Hypertension, uncontrolled
  • Hypertensive disorder
  • Hypertensive emergency
  • Hypertensive retinopathy, both eyes
  • Hypertensive urgency
  • Labile systemic arterial hypertension
  • Left hypertensive retinopathy
  • Left hypertensive retinopathy (eye condition)
  • Malignant hypertension
  • Nutritional therapy for hypertension
  • Nutritional therapy for hypertension done
  • Right hypertensive retinopathy
  • Uncontrolled hypertension

General ICD-10 Information

ICD (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health problems) is now on its 10th revision. ICD-10 codes are the byproduct of that revision. This medical classification list is generated by the World Health Organization (WHO), and is used to help healthcare providers identify and code health conditions.

ICD-10 is required for use by physicians and healthcare providers under the Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA) and will replace all ICD-9 code sets.

Many more new diagnoses can be tracked using ICD-10 than with ICD-9. Some expanded code sets, like ICD-10-CM, have over 70,000 codes.

ICD-10 Codes